After cleansing: per the NHS try a topical treatment with salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide from a pharmacy, and per the AAD add a moisturiser labelled non-comedogenic, plus sunscreen by day. The cheapest gel is Starville gel at EGP 120 and the cheapest cream Starville cream at EGP 85, and with a stated active there is Skin Defense Spot Gel at EGP 139 (salicylic 1.5% and glycolic 3.5%). If your acne is deep, painful or leaves scars, see a doctor first.
What goes on after cleansing?
- Cleanser: gently twice a day, and remove make-up at the end of the day (NHS); do not scrub, since scrubbing irritates and worsens acne. For cleansers: Best face wash for oily, acne-prone skin.
- Topical treatment: the NHS suggests treatments you put on your skin such as salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide, and to ask a pharmacist. It notes stronger medicines (such as adapalene or antibiotics) are prescribed by a doctor.
- Moisturiser: the AAD says acne treatments can dry and irritate and dryness can trigger more oil; so look for “non-comedogenic” or “oil-free” and apply it while the skin is still damp.
- Sunscreen: broad-spectrum, water-resistant SPF 30 or higher, since some acne medicines increase sun sensitivity (AAD).
- Patience: treatment takes weeks to months, and do not swap products too often (AAD).

Gels and spot treatments
These go on the spots or on the acne areas. Actives stated on the pages or packs are written in each card, and where none is stated we say so.
Starville Acne Prone Skin Gel for Oily Skin – 30 g
A light gel for excess oil and breakouts
EGP 120
EGP 4.0 per g · 30 g
- The page: targets acne and excess oil, calms redness and purifies pores
- The page: a light, fast-absorbing, non-greasy gel, once or twice a day
- EGP 120 for 30 g
Heads-up: The page says the formula “may include” salicylic acid and niacinamide, so no concentration is confirmed; check the pack
Eva Skin Clinic Breakout Solution – 20 ml
A spot solution to reduce breakouts and shine
EGP 130
EGP 6.5 per ml · 20 ml
- The page: reduces breakouts and excess shine and prevents new breakouts
- The page: for clearer, smoother skin
- A small bottle at EGP 130
Heads-up: The ingredients are not on the page, so I cannot name the active
Skin Defense Acne Spot Gel – 15 ml
A spot gel with three actives
EGP 139150
EGP 9.3 per ml · 15 ml
- Product data: salicylic acid 1.5%, glycolic acid 3.5% and lauric acid 2%
- The pack: helps control the look of blackheads, whiteheads and skin texture
- On offer, from EGP 150 to 139
Heads-up: The page says spot use only, and a care product rather than a treatment for severe acne; use sunscreen by day
Crynov Care Acne Treatment Cream – 70 g
A spot cream with an antibiotic and acids
EGP 160175
EGP 2.3 per g · 70 g
- The page: azelaic acid 20%, erythromycin 2%, vitamin A 0.05%, salicylic acid and niacinamide
- The page: a thin layer on spots once daily before bed
- On offer, from EGP 175 to 160
Heads-up: It contains an antibiotic and the page itself says “consult your doctor before use”; stop if severe redness or irritation appears
Lavilor Acne Gel Cream – 50 ml
A gel cream with salicylic acid, hydration and microbiome support
EGP 580
EGP 11.6 per ml · 50 ml
- The page: salicylic acid, glycerin, saccharide isomerate and alpha-glucan oligosaccharide (a prebiotic)
- The page: for oily, combination and acne-prone skin, with hydration
- The pack: a pump bottle, 50 ml
Heads-up: The salicylic acid percentage is not stated, and it is the priciest gel cream at EGP 580
AXIS-Y Spot The Difference Blemish Treatment – 15 ml
A light spot gel with plant extracts
EGP 699755
EGP 46.6 per ml · 15 ml
- The page: tea tree extract, centella, ceramide capsules, green tea and calendula
- On the pack: 4-Terpineol, niacinamide 2%, AHA and BHA
- The page: a light, non-greasy texture
Heads-up: The priciest here per ml (EGP 46.6 per ml) because it is 15 ml for EGP 699
Daily creams and cream gels
These go on the whole face after cleansing, and one is a pure moisturiser (Skin Defense Moisturizing Gel) because the AAD advises a moisturiser with treatment. To compare Hayah: Hayah Laboratories products by concern.
Starville Acne Prone Skin Cream – 60 g
A light cream that calms irritation and balances oil
EGP 85
EGP 1.4 per g · 60 g
- The page: soothes irritation, balances sebum and helps prevent breakouts
- The page: a light, non-greasy texture with a matte finish
- The cheapest here: EGP 85
Heads-up: The ingredients are not on the page, so it is unclear whether there is an active
Dermactive Acti-Clear Global Cream Gel – 50 ml
A daily cream gel for oily, acne-prone skin
EGP 239
EGP 4.8 per ml · 50 ml
- The page: hydrates oily skin, reduces shine and improves appearance
- The page: a light, fast-absorbing cream gel, once or twice a day
- The page names niacinamide, salicylic acid, glycolic acid, azelaic acid and panthenol
Heads-up: The list says “may include” and also names tazarotene; ask a pharmacist or doctor and check the pack
Oxygen O Clear Global Cream – 50 ml
A cream for mild to moderate imperfections
EGP 248
EGP 5.0 per ml · 50 ml
- The pack: matmarine, niacinamide, salicylic acid and zinc acetate
- The pack: for mild to moderate imperfections, non-comedogenic
- The page: reduces pimples, purifies pores and controls oil
Heads-up: The concentrations of the actives are not stated
Skin Defense Moisturizing Gel – 50 ml
A light gel moisturiser for oily, acne-prone skin
EGP 250
EGP 5.0 per ml · 50 ml
- The page: hyaluronic acid, ceramides and niacinamide
- The page: moisturises, mattifies and tightens pores
- A daily moisturiser, not an acne treatment
Heads-up: The page itself says it is a moisturiser, not a treatment; use it with a treatment, not instead
Dermaelle Acne-Prone Skin Treatment Cream – 60 ml
A cream gel with several acids and sebum control
EGP 329
EGP 5.5 per ml · 60 ml
- The page: AHA, BHA and PHA with Acnacidol, salicylic and glycolic acid, chlorhexidine, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid
- The page: morning and evening according to skin tolerance
- The page: daily sunscreen is essential because it contains exfoliating acids
Heads-up: A strong multi-acid formula, and the page advises not to use it with retinol in the same routine
Bioderma Sébium Global – 30 ml
A daily care for oily, acne-prone skin
EGP 750
EGP 25.0 per ml · 30 ml
- The page: salicylic acid, AHAs, zinc gluconate, bakuchiol and the Fluidactiv complex
- The page: once or twice daily after cleansing
- The page: before sunscreen and make-up
Heads-up: The priciest per ml (EGP 25 per ml), at EGP 750 for 30 ml

Price comparison
| Product | Type | Size | Price | Per ml/g |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starville Acne Prone Skin Cream – 60 g | Cream | 60 g | EGP 85 | EGP 1.4 |
| Crynov Care Acne Treatment Cream – 70 g | Spot cream | 70 g | EGP 160 | EGP 2.3 |
| Starville Acne Prone Skin Gel for Oily Skin – 30 g | Gel | 30 g | EGP 120 | EGP 4.0 |
| Dermactive Acti-Clear Global Cream Gel – 50 ml | Cream gel | 50 ml | EGP 239 | EGP 4.8 |
| Oxygen O Clear Global Cream – 50 ml | Cream | 50 ml | EGP 248 | EGP 5.0 |
| Skin Defense Moisturizing Gel – 50 ml | Gel moisturiser | 50 ml | EGP 250 | EGP 5.0 |
| Dermaelle Acne-Prone Skin Treatment Cream – 60 ml | Cream gel | 60 ml | EGP 329 | EGP 5.5 |
| Eva Skin Clinic Breakout Solution – 20 ml | Solution | 20 ml | EGP 130 | EGP 6.5 |
| Skin Defense Acne Spot Gel – 15 ml | Spot gel | 15 ml | EGP 139 | EGP 9.3 |
| Lavilor Acne Gel Cream – 50 ml | Gel cream | 50 ml | EGP 580 | EGP 11.6 |
| Bioderma Sébium Global – 30 ml | Cream | 30 ml | EGP 750 | EGP 25.0 |
| AXIS-Y Spot The Difference Blemish Treatment – 15 ml | Spot gel | 15 ml | EGP 699 | EGP 46.6 |
Sizes are in ml for most products and in grams for four, so the comparison is approximate; the small spot-treatment bottles look pricier per ml but go on only a few spots.
Ask a dermatologist or pharmacist if
- Acne is deep, painful, leaves scars, or is widespread (NHS guidance), or is affecting your mood.
- You tried a treatment for weeks and it did not improve, or there are signs of infection: hot, swollen, red skin (NHS).
- You will use a product with an antibiotic or many acids (such as Crynov or Dermaelle): ask first, and do not mix with retinol yourself.
- Severe redness, burning or a rash appears after a new product: stop it.
- In pregnancy or breastfeeding: ask before any product with active ingredients.
- No studies compare these products, so choose by the page details and what your skin tolerates.
Not sure which one?
Beseha pharmacists answer on WhatsApp. Tap the “Ask a pharmacist” button and tell them your acne type and any treatment you use.
FAQ
What goes on after cleansing for acne?
The NHS suggests a topical treatment with salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide, and the AAD advises a moisturiser labelled non-comedogenic and SPF 30 or higher sunscreen by day.
How long until treatment works?
The AAD says treatment can take weeks to a few months, and advises against switching treatments too often.
Do I need a moisturiser with acne?
Yes per the AAD, because acne treatments can dry and irritate and dryness can raise oil production, so choose a non-comedogenic one.
Which is the cheapest?
The cheapest is Starville cream at EGP 85, then Starville gel at EGP 120 and Eva Breakout at EGP 130.
Is Crynov cream suitable for everyone?
It contains erythromycin, an antibiotic, and the page says to consult your doctor before use.
Can I use the acids with retinol?
The Dermaelle page advises against using it with retinol in the same routine unless a professional directs it, and daily sunscreen is required.
When should I see a doctor?
If acne is deep, painful or leaves scars, or has not improved after weeks of self-treatment, per the NHS.
Read next: Best face wash for oily, acne-prone skin and Dark spot creams and serums and exfoliating toners and glycolic acid.
The bottom line
After cleansing: a topical treatment with a stated active, a non-comedogenic moisturiser, sunscreen by day, and weeks of patience. The cheapest starts at EGP 85, and the strongest (Crynov and Dermaelle) after asking a professional. If acne is deep or leaves scars, see a dermatologist.
Acne spot treatments at Beseha →
Sources
This content is for information and is not a substitute for advice from a doctor or pharmacist. Prices and availability may change; the final price is on the product page.











