If you are new to retinol: start with the lowest strength you can find, at night only, every other night, with a pea-sized amount, and sunscreen every morning. The cheapest start with a stated strength: Kolagra 0.3% at EGP 335. For sensitive skin: CeraVe with encapsulated retinol and no fragrance (EGP 826). Keep 1% serums such as Derma Ten (EGP 330) for when your skin has adjusted. Retinoids are not for pregnancy.
What is retinol, and how to choose a strength
- A form of vitamin A: Cleveland Clinic says retinol is a form of vitamin A with many uses in skin care.
- How it differs from prescription retinoids: per Cleveland Clinic, the main difference is strength; retinoids come at higher concentrations and are mostly prescription-only.
- Retinol and retinal: DermNet says both are commonly added to cosmetics and are not prescription medicines.
- Start with the lowest strength: the American Academy of Dermatology advises the least-intense formula you can find, and notes there is no requirement to put the percentage on the label.
- Read the pack and the page: if the strength is stated, lower is easier to start with; if it is not, start even more slowly.
Low, stated strength: to start
Kolagra Retinol & Hyaluronic Acid Serum – 30 ml
The cheapest start with a stated strength
EGP 335
EGP 11.2 per ml · 30 ml
- The page lists 0.3% retinol with 1% hyaluronic acid, 1% niacinamide and squalane
- 2–3 drops at night, then moisturiser, and sunscreen in the morning, per the page
- EGP 335, about EGP 11 per ml
Heads-up: The page says ingredients may change with manufacturer updates, so check the box you receive
SKIN1004 Retinol 0.2 Boosting Shot Ampoule with Centella – 30 ml
A low strength with soothing centella
EGP 1,0331,088
EGP 34.4 per ml · 30 ml
- The pack says 0.2% retinol, with retinal, centella and squalane
- 1–2 drops at night after toner and before moisturiser, per the page
- A light ampoule texture, 30 ml
Heads-up: The page itself does not state the percentage; the 0.2% is from the pack, and it also contains retinal
Arencia Retinal Booster Shot – 30 ml
Retinal at a low, stated strength
EGP 7801,400
EGP 26.0 per ml · 30 ml
- The page lists retinal 200 ppm (0.02%) with caffeine, ectoin, ceramides and peptides
- Night use only, with sunscreen every morning, per the page
- EGP 780, down from 1,400
Heads-up: This is retinal, a different form of vitamin A from retinol; the page says it is not for pregnancy
Anua Retinol 0.3 Niacin Renewing Serum – 30 ml
Retinol with niacinamide for oily and combination skin
EGP 1,1501,340
EGP 38.3 per ml · 30 ml
- The pack says Retinol 0.3 + Niacin; the page lists niacinamide, hyaluronic acid and panthenol
- The page lists combination, normal and oily skin
- The page suggests starting with only a few uses a week
Heads-up: The page does not state the percentage; “0.3” is part of the product name on the pack
Gentle formulas, strength not stated
CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum – 30 ml
A formula with ceramides and niacinamide
EGP 826870
EGP 27.5 per ml · 30 ml
- The page lists encapsulated retinol with niacinamide, licorice root and three ceramides
- Fragrance-free, per the page
- EGP 826, about EGP 27.5 per ml
Heads-up: The retinol percentage is not on the page or the pack
La Roche-Posay Retinol B3 Serum – 30 ml
Retinol with vitamin B3 from La Roche-Posay
EGP 1,4501,590
EGP 48.3 per ml · 30 ml
- The pack says pure retinol with vitamin B3
- The page says introduce it gradually and use it in the evening
- EGP 1,450, down from 1,590
Heads-up: The percentage is not on the page, which also says to use it with caution on sensitive skin. It is the highest price per ml on the list
1% retinol: once your skin has adjusted
Derma Ten Anti-Aging Power Serum 1% Retinol – 30 ml
The cheapest 1% serum on the list
EGP 330
EGP 11.0 per ml · 30 ml
- The page lists 1% encapsulated retinol with hyaluronic acid, peptides and niacinamide
- The page says three nights a week only
- EGP 330, EGP 11 per ml
Heads-up: 1% is the highest strength on the list, and the American Academy of Dermatology advises starting with the lowest
BIONNEX The Nordea 1% Retinol Serum – 30 ml
1% retinol for oily and combination skin
EGP 689
EGP 23.0 per ml · 30 ml
- The page and the pack say 1% retinol
- The pack lists normal, combination and oily skin
- The page says night only, and no AHA or BHA in the same routine
Heads-up: 1% is not a first choice for beginners; the page suggests a patch test on sensitive skin
Comparison table: strength and price per ml
| Product | Form and strength | With | Price | Per ml |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Derma Ten Anti-Aging Power Serum 1% Retinol – 30 ml | 1% encapsulated retinol | Hyaluronic acid, peptides | EGP 330 | EGP 11.0 |
| Kolagra Retinol & Hyaluronic Acid Serum – 30 ml | 0.3% retinol | Hyaluronic acid, niacinamide | EGP 335 | EGP 11.2 |
| BIONNEX The Nordea 1% Retinol Serum – 30 ml | 1% retinol | — | EGP 689 | EGP 23.0 |
| Arencia Retinal Booster Shot – 30 ml | 0.02% retinal | Caffeine, ceramides | EGP 780 | EGP 26.0 |
| CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum – 30 ml | Encapsulated retinol, % not stated | Ceramides, niacinamide | EGP 826 | EGP 27.5 |
| SKIN1004 Retinol 0.2 Boosting Shot Ampoule with Centella – 30 ml | 0.2% retinol (pack) | Retinal, centella | EGP 1,033 | EGP 34.4 |
| Anua Retinol 0.3 Niacin Renewing Serum – 30 ml | Retinol “0.3” (product name) | Niacinamide, hyaluronic acid | EGP 1,150 | EGP 38.3 |
| La Roche-Posay Retinol B3 Serum – 30 ml | Pure retinol, % not stated | Vitamin B3 | EGP 1,450 | EGP 48.3 |
How to use retinol for the first time

- First two weeks: every other day per Cleveland Clinic, then build up slowly as your skin allows.
- Night only: the American Academy of Dermatology advises night use, and Cleveland Clinic says wait 30 minutes after washing your face.
- Amount: a pea-sized amount for the whole face, then a non-comedogenic moisturiser.
- Sunscreen: Cleveland Clinic says retinol makes skin more sensitive to sunlight, so use SPF 30 every morning. See our best sunscreen in Egypt by skin type.
- One retinol product only: Cleveland Clinic advises one retinol product at a time, with vitamin C in the morning and retinol at night.
- Patience: per Cleveland Clinic, texture improves after several weeks, while wrinkles take several months.
Common mistakes
- Starting with 1% every night: the American Academy of Dermatology says people who do not start slowly end up irritating their skin.
- Acids on the same night: Cleveland Clinic says AHAs, BHAs and retinol can all irritate the skin; keep them apart.
- On sunburnt or broken skin: Cleveland Clinic says avoid retinol then.
- Near the eyes and lips: DermNet says irritation is more likely there. For dark circles, see our best eye creams for dark circles.
- Panicking about the “purge”: Cleveland Clinic says skin may look worse at first, and redness and peeling ease as skin adjusts. For a calming partner ingredient, see our niacinamide guide.
Important safety notes
- Retinoids should not be used during pregnancy, per the American Academy of Dermatology. If you are breastfeeding, ask your doctor first.
- With a lot of redness or inflammation, skin allergies or marked dryness, the Academy says retinoids are probably not a good fit.
- On darker skin, irritation can leave dark marks, per the Academy, so stop if you notice irritation.
- With moderate or severe acne, acne scarring or acne linked to periods, the Academy advises seeing a dermatologist first.
- If burning or redness persists, stop the product and see a dermatologist.
Not sure which one?
Beseha pharmacists answer on WhatsApp. Tap the “Ask a pharmacist” button, share your skin type and the products you use, and they will suggest the right strength.
FAQ
What strength of retinol is right for beginners?
The American Academy of Dermatology advises starting with the least-intense formula available, then building up as your skin tolerates it.
How often should I use retinol at first?
According to Cleveland Clinic, use it every other day for the first couple of weeks, then increase gradually.
Should I use retinol in the morning or at night?
At night only, with sunscreen in the morning, because retinol makes skin more sensitive to sunlight.
How much retinol should I use on my face?
Cleveland Clinic says a pea-sized amount for the whole face.
When do retinol results show?
Cleveland Clinic says texture improves after several weeks, while a difference in wrinkles usually takes several months.
Can I use retinol during pregnancy?
No. The American Academy of Dermatology says retinoids should not be used during pregnancy.
What is the difference between retinol and retinal?
Both are vitamin A derivatives added to cosmetics, per DermNet, and each product has its own strength stated on the pack or page.
Read next: the best body lotion for dry skin in winter.
The bottom line
For beginners: start with Kolagra 0.3% for the cheapest stated strength, or CeraVe for sensitive skin, every other night, with sunscreen every morning. Once your skin has adjusted, you can move to 1%, such as Derma Ten.
Sources
- American Academy of Dermatology: Retinoid or retinol?
- Cleveland Clinic: Retinol
- DermNet: Topical retinoids
This content is for information and is not a substitute for advice from a doctor or pharmacist. Prices and availability may change; the final price is on the product page.







